.

#484:  Georgetown

<< 1 2 >>

Location:

Mounted on wall in front of fire station, 6281 Main St, Georgetown

38.906647,-120.83898

 

 

Plaque:

State Plaque

Notes:

None


From the plaque:

Founded August 7, 1849 by George Phipps and party. Nicknamed Growlersburg from the heavy nuggets that "growled" in the miners' pans. Georgetown was the hub of an immensely rich gold area. After the disastrous fire of 1852 the old town was moved from the canyon in lower Main Street to its present site. Unique in early day planning, Main Street was laid out 100 feet wide and side streets 60 feet. Population was 3,000 in 1854-56.

Tablet furnished by California Centennials Commission, Base by Georgetown Divide Rotary Club. Dedicated October 20, 1951 by Georgetown Divide Rotary Club and James W. Marshall Chapter, E Clampus Vitus.



©2009 David Schmitt