#814:  Beringer Brothers Winery

<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>


2000 Main St, St. Helena





State Plaque


Access to plaque and site limited to operating hours.

From the plaque:

Built by Frederick and Jacob Beringer, natives of Mainz, Germany, this winery has the unique distinction of never having ceased operations since its founding in 1876. Here, in the European tradition, were dug underground wine tunnels hundreds of feet in length. These maintain a constant temperature of 58 degrees, a factor considered necessary in the maturing and aging of fine wines.

Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the La Junta Parlor No.203, Native Daughters of the Golden West. April 30, 1967

2009 David Schmitt