#0877 Chapel of San Ramon


#0877 Chapel of San Ramon

Site information:

SW corner of Tepusquet and Foxen Canyon Rds, 15 mi SE of Santa Maria


Plaque information:

State and private plaques

State plaque text:

Chapel of San Ramon

This redwood frame chapel, erected in 1875 by Frederick and Ramona Foxen Wickenden for area residents, illustrates the transition between the architecture of the old missions and the frame churches of the later American settlers. It is a unique example of the use of wood to create strong, simple forms that had formerly been executed in adobe.

Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the San Ramon Chapel Preservation Committee and the Santa Barbara County Historical Landmarks Advisory Committee, August 31, 1975.

Private plaque text:


Foxen Memorial Chapel.

In memory of community pioneers. 

Erected by Santa Maria Parlor No 276 Native Daughters of the Golden West.

Registered 1/13/1975