From the plaque:
This redwood frame chapel,
erected in 1875 by Frederick and Ramona Foxen Wickenden for area residents,
illustrates the transition between the architecture of
the old missions and the frame churches of the later American
settlers. It is a unique example of the use of wood to
create strong, simple forms that had formerly been executed
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the San Ramon Chapel Preservation Committee and the Santa Barbara County Historical Landmarks Advisory Committe, August 31, 1975.