#0650 Site of What Cheer House


#0650 Site of What Cheer House

Site information:

SW corner of Sacramento and Leidesdorff Sts, San Francisco

Nothing remains of this site, it was destroyed in the fire of 1906.


Plaque information:

State plaque

Plaque text:

Site of What Cheer House

This is the site of the famous What Cheer House, a unique hotel opened in 1852 by R. B. Woodward and destroyed by the fire of 1906. The What Cheer House catered to men only, permitted no liquor on the premises, and housed San Francisco's first free library and first museum.

Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the California Historical Society and the American Trust Company, April 24, 1959.

Registered 7/1/1958