#1004 Old Town Irvine


#1004 Old Town Irvine

Site information:

Sand Canyon Ave and Burt Rd, Irvine


Plaque information:

Private plaque

Plaque text:

Old Town Irvine

The townsite began in 1887 with the arrival of the AT&SF RR. James Irvine II chose this site to be the shipping center for crops grown on the Irvine Ranch, due to its high elevation. Original buildings remaining include the Bean Shed (1895), Bulk Storage Warehouse (1949), Blacksmith Shop (1912), Garage (1929), Tenant Farmhouse (1897), General Store (1912), and Hotel (1913). The hotel and store were moved from across Sand Canyon Avenue in 1986.

Dedicated by Santa Ana Parlor No. 235, Native Daughters of the Golden West, Santa Ana. 2-9-87

OHP description:

Old Town Irvine stands today as a testament to the rich agricultural past of what has become one of California's most heavily urban counties. Founded in 1887 as the distribution and storage center of the 125,000-acre Irvine ranch, Old Town Irvine was to develop over the years a bean and grain storage warehouse (1895) and granary (1947) known as the Irvine Bean and Grain Grower's Building, a blacksmith's shop (1916), a hotel (1913), a general store (1911), and an employees' bungalow (1915). All of these structures have been rehabilitated for commercial uses and their exteriors have been painstakingly maintained.

Registered 11/8/1991