#0814 Beringer Brothers Winery


#0814 Beringer Brothers Winery

Site information:

2000 Main St, St. Helena

Site is privately owned and access is restricted to operating hours.


Plaque information:

State plaque

Plaque text:

Beringer Brothers Winery

Built by Frederick and Jacob Beringer, natives of Mainz, Germany, this winery has the unique distinction of never having ceased operations since its founding in 1876. Here, in the European tradition, were dug underground wine tunnels hundreds of feet in length. These maintain a constant temperature of 58 degrees, a factor considered necessary in the maturing and aging of fine wines.

Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the La Junta Parlor No.203, Native Daughters of the Golden West. April 30, 1967

Registered 12/19/1966